Gateshead Council

Site Search


Catalogue

FIND OUT MORE

Events Diary

Our libraries and St Mary's Heritage Centre run a varied programme of events throughout the year for people of all ages, in addition to our Learning opportunities, Regular Activities and Reading Groups, which have their own diary pages.

You can also find details of our forthcoming events on the Council's BOXOFFICE
t: 0191 4338420
e: libraries@gateshead.gov.uk


We look forward to seeing you soon



City Scape Photography with Phil Punton

City Scape Photography with Phil Punton

14:00 Sun Apr 23, 2017
Photographing the city by night @ St Mary’s..

City Scape Photography with Phil Punton

Poem in Your Pocket

Poem in Your Pocket

10:00 Tue Apr 25, 2017
Celebrate poetry @ Whickham

Poem in Your Pocket

The Story of Cabaret - The Musical

The Story of Cabaret - The Musical

14:30 Thu Apr 27, 2017
A talk @ Central

The Story of Cabaret - The Musical

Local History Month 2017

Local History Month 2017

09:19 Mon May 1, 2017 - Wed May 31, 2017
Bookings now open!

Local History Month 2017

Gateshead's Great Places

Gateshead's Great Places

09:00 Tue May 2, 2017 - Fri May 26, 2017
Follow the clues @ Central

Gateshead's Great Places

Read Regional wth Phaedra Patrick

Read Regional wth Phaedra Patrick

10:30 Thu May 4, 2017
Author talk @ Birtley...

Read Regional wth Phaedra Patrick

Aga Lesiewicz, Michelle Davies & Fiona Cummins

Aga Lesiewicz, Michelle Davies & Fiona Cummins

19:00 Thu May 4, 2017
Author visit @ Central

Aga Lesiewicz, Michelle Davies & Fiona Cummins

Meet Emma Flint

Meet Emma Flint

14:00 Fri May 5, 2017
Author visit @ Whickham

Meet Emma Flint

An Evening with Kate Morton

An Evening with Kate Morton

19:00 Fri May 5, 2017
Author visit @ Central

An Evening with Kate Morton

Digital Makings

Digital Makings

10:30 Sat May 6, 2017
Voice and singing workshop @ Central

Digital Makings

Spring Craft Fair

Spring Craft Fair

10:30 Sat May 6, 2017
Craft and food fair @ St Mary’s Heritage...

Spring Craft Fair

Mental Health Awareness Week

Mental Health Awareness Week

09:00 Mon May 8, 2017 - Sat May 13, 2017
Books on Prescription @ Central

Mental Health Awareness Week

Industrial Sunderland

Industrial Sunderland

19:00 Tue May 9, 2017
A look at Sunderland’s lost industries @ St Mary’s....

Industrial Sunderland

Sonifying the Archive

Sonifying the Archive

18:30 Wed May 10, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

Sonifying the Archive

Read Regional with Andrew Hankinson

Read Regional with Andrew Hankinson

19:00 Thu May 11, 2017
Author visit @ Central

Read Regional with Andrew Hankinson

An Evening with Milly Johnson

An Evening with Milly Johnson

19:00 Fri May 12, 2017
Author visit @ Central

An Evening with Milly Johnson

Sensational Sunflowers

Sensational Sunflowers

10:30 Sat May 13, 2017
Grow a sunflower @ Central

Sensational Sunflowers

Dementia Awareness Week

Dementia Awareness Week

09:00 Mon May 15, 2017 - Sat May 20, 2017
Dementia resources @ Central

Dementia Awareness Week

The Land of Oak and Iron

The Land of Oak and Iron

19:00 Tue May 16, 2017
An exciting project @ St Mary’s Heritage...

The Land of Oak and Iron

History Wardrobe Presents...

History Wardrobe Presents...

18:30 Thu May 18, 2017
Bad Girls & Bonnets

History Wardrobe Presents...

The Late Shows

The Late Shows

18:00 Sat May 20, 2017
80s Culture Club @ Central

The Late Shows

Celebrate Elmer Day!

Celebrate Elmer Day!

10:00 Mon May 22, 2017 - Tue May 30, 2017
Rhymetimes and Storytimes @ various libraries...

Celebrate Elmer Day!

Colourful Containers

Colourful Containers

10:30 Tue May 23, 2017
Create a container @ Central

Colourful Containers

Who’s Geordie?

Who’s Geordie?

19:00 Tue May 23, 2017
A Talk by Sue Hurst

Who’s Geordie?

Read Regional with Gulwali Passarlay

Read Regional with Gulwali Passarlay

19:00 Thu May 25, 2017
Author visit @ Central

Read Regional with Gulwali Passarlay

Gravity Falls

Gravity Falls

18:00 Fri May 26, 2017
Mystery Library Night @ Central

Gravity Falls

From Here to Eternity

From Here to Eternity

19:00 Tue May 30, 2017
A new talk by Anthea Lang @ St Mary’s...

From Here to Eternity

Digital Makings

Digital Makings

10:00 Wed May 31, 2017
Love Your Library collage workshop

Digital Makings

Great Fire of Gateshead 1854

Great Fire of Gateshead 1854

11:00 Wed May 31, 2017
A Family Walk @ St Mary’s Heritage Centre

Great Fire of Gateshead 1854

Bee-Bots Storytime

Bee-Bots Storytime

14:15 Wed May 31, 2017
Stories @ Central

Bee-Bots Storytime

Fantasy Sculptures & Pixelated Pictures

Fantasy Sculptures & Pixelated Pictures

09:30 Thu Jun 1, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

Fantasy Sculptures & Pixelated Pictures

Let's Build Elmer Competition

Let's Build Elmer Competition

14:00 Thu Jun 1, 2017
Lego competition @ Central

Let's Build Elmer Competition

Celebrating Jane Austen

Celebrating Jane Austen

19:30 Thu Jun 1, 2017
Library Lates @ Central

Celebrating Jane Austen

Elmer's Rhymetime Plus

Elmer's Rhymetime Plus

10:00 Fri Jun 2, 2017
Special Rhymetime @ Central

Elmer's Rhymetime Plus

Green Screen Workshop

Green Screen Workshop

10:00 Sat Jun 3, 2017
Digital Makings @ Blaydon

Green Screen Workshop

Glorious Hanging Baskets

Glorious Hanging Baskets

10:30 Tue Jun 6, 2017
Create a hanging basket @ Central

Glorious Hanging Baskets

Stories in the garden

Stories in the garden

14:15 Wed Jun 7, 2017
Storytime @ Central

Stories in the garden

Bookstart Babies in the Garden

Bookstart Babies in the Garden

15:00 Wed Jun 7, 2017
Baby storytime @ Central

Bookstart Babies in the Garden

An Evening with Robbie Burns

An Evening with Robbie Burns

19:15 Thu Jun 8, 2017
Music & songs @ Blaydon

An Evening with Robbie Burns

Bookstart rhymes Around the Garden

Bookstart rhymes Around the Garden

09:30 Fri Jun 9, 2017
rhymetime @ Central

Bookstart rhymes Around the Garden

Worldwide Knit Day

Worldwide Knit Day

10:00 Sat Jun 10, 2017
Knitting session @ Central

Worldwide Knit Day

Alphabet Photography Workshop

Alphabet Photography Workshop

10:00 Sat Jun 10, 2017 - Sat Jun 17, 2017
Digital Makings @ various locations

Alphabet Photography Workshop

Adult Portrait Workshop

Adult Portrait Workshop

10:00 Mon Jun 12, 2017
Digital Makings @ Birtley

Adult Portrait Workshop

Local & Family History for carers

Local & Family History for carers

10:00 Mon Jun 12, 2017
Introductory session @ Central

Local & Family History for carers

Books on Prescription

Books on Prescription

10:00 Tue Jun 13, 2017
Booklist launch @ Central

Books on Prescription

Adult Learners' Week

Adult Learners' Week

14:00 Mon Jun 19, 2017
Poetry Reading @ Central

Adult Learners' Week

Blooming Great Tea Party

Blooming Great Tea Party

10:30 Fri Jun 23, 2017
Friends of Central Library Coffee Morning

Blooming Great Tea Party

Live Coding Workshop

Live Coding Workshop

10:00 Sat Jun 24, 2017
Digital Makings @ Blaydon

Live Coding Workshop

Digital Makings: Love Your Library

Digital Makings: Love Your Library

10:00 Thu Jun 29, 2017
Collage Workshop @ Crawcrook

Digital Makings: Love Your Library

Sound Mapping & Field Recording

Sound Mapping & Field Recording

10:00 Sat Jul 1, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

Sound Mapping & Field Recording

Health Information Week

Health Information Week

09:30 Mon Jul 3, 2017 - Sun Jul 9, 2017
3rd to 9th July @ Central

Health Information Week

Bowled Over

Bowled Over

13:00 Tue Jul 4, 2017
A talk about Lyndhurst Bowling Club

Bowled Over

Books through the decades - 1910s

Books through the decades - 1910s

19:30 Thu Jul 6, 2017
Library Lates @ Central

Books through the decades - 1910s

Pocket Sized Geek

Pocket Sized Geek

13:00 Sat Jul 8, 2017
Geeky Convention @ Central

Pocket Sized Geek

Digital Makings: Love Your Library

Digital Makings: Love Your Library

14:00 Tue Jul 11, 2017
Collage Workshop @ Pelaw

Digital Makings: Love Your Library

Live Coding Workshop

Live Coding Workshop

10:00 Sat Jul 15, 2017
Digital Makings @ Birtley

Live Coding Workshop

Summer Reading Challenge

Summer Reading Challenge

09:00 Mon Jul 17, 2017 - Sat Sep 2, 2017
All summer @ All locations

Summer Reading Challenge

Meet and Geek

Meet and Geek

16:00 Fri Jul 21, 2017 - Fri Aug 25, 2017
Anime, Zombies & Superheroes @ Central

Meet and Geek

Happy Holidays

Happy Holidays

14:00 Tue Jul 25, 2017
Digital Makings @ Crawcrook

Happy Holidays

Animal Story

Animal Story

10:30 Thu Jul 27, 2017 - Fri Aug 18, 2017
Animals up close @ various locations

Animal Story

Animation Techniques Workshop

Animation Techniques Workshop

13:00 Thu Jul 27, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

Animation Techniques Workshop

Bunnies Tea Party

Bunnies Tea Party

14:00 Thu Jul 27, 2017
Tea Party @ Central

Bunnies Tea Party

Underwater Sound Workshop

Underwater Sound Workshop

10:00 Sat Jul 29, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

Underwater Sound Workshop

Bees, Bugs & Mini-Beasts

Bees, Bugs & Mini-Beasts

10:30 Sat Jul 29, 2017
Mini-beast hunt @ Central

Bees, Bugs & Mini-Beasts

Bee-bots Storytime

Bee-bots Storytime

10:30 Tue Aug 1, 2017 - Thu Aug 17, 2017
Digital Storytime @ Central

Bee-bots Storytime

Crafty Animations

Crafty Animations

13:00 Tue Aug 1, 2017
Digital Makings @ Pelaw

Crafty Animations

Maker Mornings: Extinct Animals

Maker Mornings: Extinct Animals

11:00 Wed Aug 2, 2017 - Thu Aug 31, 2017
Junk Modelling @ Central

Maker Mornings: Extinct Animals

Code-bugs

Code-bugs

14:00 Thu Aug 3, 2017 - Tue Aug 15, 2017
Coding Workshop @ Central

Code-bugs

Scribble-Spiders

Scribble-Spiders

10:30 Tue Aug 8, 2017 - Thu Aug 24, 2017
Making robots @ Central

Scribble-Spiders

Green Screen Animation

Green Screen Animation

10:00 Thu Aug 10, 2017
Digital Makings @ Crawcrook

Green Screen Animation

Amazing Animals

Amazing Animals

14:00 Thu Aug 10, 2017 - Tue Aug 22, 2017
Hands on with animals @ Central

Amazing Animals

Beautiful Butterflies

Beautiful Butterflies

10:30 Sat Aug 12, 2017
Butterfly count @ Central

Beautiful Butterflies

Mad Hatter's Tea Party

Mad Hatter's Tea Party

14:00 Wed Aug 16, 2017
Digital Makings @ Birtley

Mad Hatter's Tea Party

NoiseBox Workshop

NoiseBox Workshop

10:00 Sat Aug 19, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

NoiseBox Workshop

Animation on Location

Animation on Location

10:30 Thu Aug 24, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

Animation on Location

Modelling Animation

Modelling Animation

09:30 Thu Aug 31, 2017
Digital Makings @ Central

Modelling Animation

Animal Agents

Animal Agents

10:30 Sat Sep 2, 2017
Medal Winners’ Celebration @ Central

Animal Agents





USEFUL LINKS








RELATED SECTIONS



Learning
Computer courses plus...
Readers' Groups
We have groups all over Gateshead...
Regular Activities
Rhymetimes, storytimes, film club, family history & so much more...





DOWNLOAD IT HERE




libraries@gateshead.gov.uk

Gateshead Central Library
Prince Consort Road, Gateshead, NE8 4LN
Tel: 0191 433 8410

© Gateshead Council 2011 | Terms | Privacy & Cookies : Find out More| Site Map