Gateshead Council

Site Search


Catalogue

FIND OUT MORE

Recommended Reads

Peter Swanson
Peter Swanson

 

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

This book is brilliant! Basically, it’s about murder, murder and more murder! Ted meets Lily at an airport bar and they share a drink together. As he thinks he will never see this stranger again he pours his heart out to her and tells her that his wife is having an affair and how he imagines killing her! Lily encourages him to go through with it and together they hatch a plan. This book is so fast-paced with double cross after double cross. Lily is actually no stranger to murder and as her past is revealed you come to realise how ruthless she actually is. I found it gripping to the last page - if you love a murder you will love this!


Eve Chase
Eve Chase
Stephanie Butland
Stephanie Butland

Black Rabbit Hall by Eve Chase

For Amber Alton, Black Rabbit Hall is a family tradition; she spends her childhood summers there where time moves slowly and life is simple. That is until one stormy night in 1968 and tragedy strikes. Fast forward a few decades; Lorna is looking for the perfect wedding venue. When she sees Black Rabbit Hall she is drawn into it and memories of her childhood start to resurface. Could it hold the key to the mystery of her life? Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley, this easy to read novel has everything. Mystery, tragedy, scandal, romance. The story unfolds slowly as the two narrators fill in pieces of the puzzle until we finally get the big reveal. A great book that’s perfect to curl up with on a dark night. Lovely cover too!

 

The Other Half Of My Heart by Stephanie Butland

Bettina has started a new life. She has opened a village bakery called Adventures in Bread, has a fragile relationship with her neighbour Rufus but generally feels settled. While Rufus wants more from their relationship, Bettina is unable to make a commitment. Gradually, we discover the reason for this. Bettina used to be known as Tina, worked as a stable girl, was treated like a daughter by the stable owners - her boyfriend was their son, Roddy, a showjumper with Olympic hopes. Then tragedy strikes and although you have an inkling of what that may be, the story is absolutely compelling. Very touching but not overly sentimental, this is a fantastic read and the descriptions of bread are mouthwatering!

Alex Marwood
Alex Marwood
Kate Griffin
Kate Griffin

Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood

Sean Jackson was a very successful businessman but his personal life was less so - four wives, unloved children and a death shrouded in scandal. Alex Marwood’s intelligent crime novel alternates between the aftermath of Sean’s untimely death and events that occurred in 2004 on the weekend of his 50th birthday, events that have remained secret amongst all who attended his birthday celebrations - his daughter, Coco, a twin, disappeared and the search to find her was unsuccessful. As the novel unfolds, the true circumstances surrounding Coco’s disappearance are gradually revealed and the revelation is truly sickening. Alex Marwood has expertly created a group of people who are extremely objectionable, manipulative and despicable and the more you read, the more you despise this self-centred group. Excellent storytelling that has you gripped to the very last page with a horrifying and unexpected twist. Superb!

 

Kitty Peck and The Child of Ill Fortune by Kate Griffin

I like historical fiction and London in 1880 was a fascinating place - it’s the setting for this book. It’s a sharp, witty and fast moving story with a great sense of time and place. Kitty Peck is a former music hall performer known as the Limehouse Linnet and she has been passed the running of Paradise, a criminal empire from the former Baron. In this book, she is finding her feet in the insalubrious Victorian underworld; she is also drawn by her formerly feared dead brother into the threatened life and mystery of a baby boy who has powerful enemies...Really enjoyed this!

Tess Gerritsen
Tess Gerritsen
Virginia MacGregor
Virginia MacGregor

Playing With Fire by Tess Gerritsen

When violinist Julia buys an old musical manuscript from an Italian shop, her life changes completely. The piece of music is called Incendio and when she plays it, it seems to provoke aggressive attacks from her previously peaceful and loving young daughter. In a desperate attempt to establish what is happening to her daughter, or to her, Julia undertakes a hunt for the history behind the music. A dual narrative reveals the story of Lorenzo, a young Italian Jew living in Venice during World War II. A complete change in many ways from Gerritsen’s previous works, this novel blends suspense, history, romance, a touch of horror and heroism together in a gripping, disturbing and tense story.

 

The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells by Virginia MacGregor

One morning Norah Wells walks out on her home and family, leaving behind a note saying "Please don’t try to find me." Eventually, her family move on with their lives - husband, Adam is in a relationship with Norah’s best friend, Fay who supported them through the dark and difficult days following her departure, teenage daughter Ella clings to the belief that one day her mum will return and 6 year old Willa believes Fay is her mum. However, their lives are thrown into turmoil when Norah returns about a 6 year absence. How do her family react? And where has Norah been? Why return now? Adam is confused and acts indecisively, Fay panics believing she is no longer needed, Ella, having thought her mum had been abducted and held against her will, is furious and Willa is simply bewildered. This is a novel about a family struggling to adapt to huge changes in their lives. Each chapter is told from the point of view of a different family member so we get a real understanding of how each one is feeling. At times they are frustrating, at others their words and actions tug at your heartstrings but most importantly, Virginia MacGregor has created believable characters - they come alive on the page and you care about them. An excellent read!







USEFUL LINKS








THE READING LIST



Yodelling About YA
Yodelling About YA
Some great books from 2017 young adult fiction...

Read Us, Love Us
Read Us, Love Us
Some books we’d like to champion...

Books we've read and loved
Books we've read and loved
More of the wonderful new books we’ve been enjoying...

Great Reads
Great Reads
Books we’ve enjoyed...

More Recommendations
More Recommendations
We loved these...

Book recommendations
Book recommendations
We’d like to recommend...

Recommended Reads
Recommended Reads
More of the wonderful new books we’ve been enjoying...

Children and Teen Booklists
Children and Teen Booklists
Books about potty training to bullying...

Dual Language Books
Dual Language Books
Picture books @ Central...

Fabulous Fiction
Fabulous Fiction
Brilliant Books for Junior Readers...


libraries@gateshead.gov.uk

Gateshead Central Library
Prince Consort Road, Gateshead, NE8 4LN
Tel: 0191 433 8410

© Gateshead Council 2011 | Terms | Privacy & Cookies : Find out More| Site Map